Land Acknowledgement


In the spirit of truth, healing, and reconciliation, we humbly and respectfully acknowledge the Indigenous nations who have stewarded the land we now call Arizona since time immemorial. The ancestral territories of twenty-two distinct Native peoples hold deep significance, including the Ak-Chin Indian Community, Cocopah Indian Tribe, Colorado River Indian Tribes, Fort McDowell Yavapai Nation, Fort Mojave Indian Tribe, Fort Yuma Quechan Tribe, Gila River Indian Community, Havasupai Tribe, Hopi Tribe, Hualapai Tribe, Kaibab Band of Paiute Indians, Navajo Nation, Pascua Yaqui Tribe, Pueblo of Zuni, Salt River Pima-Maricopa Indian Community, San Carlos Apache Tribe, San Juan Southern Paiute Tribe, Tohono O’odham Nation, Tonto Apache Tribe, White Mountain Apache Tribe, Yavapai-Apache Tribe and Yavapai-Prescott Indian Tribe. In gratitude, we honor the wisdom of past, present, and future elders and community members, and the enduring strength of their cultures and connections to the land.

Recognizing the importance of fostering genuine relationships and taking sustained action as allies, we are committed to raising public awareness around Indigenous rights and cultural equity. In order to move beyond mere acknowledgment, we pledge to continually educate ourselves, listen to Indigenous voices, and actively engage in transformative efforts that honor their sovereignty and promote healing within our communities.